Beyond the Comfort Zone

18739880_10154818169594773_4475923037186720826_n

Hey there,

Let me introduce myself a little bit, and give you an idea of what is going on here.  I am a 20-something-year-old who has absolutely nothing in her life figured out.  I am pulled in multiple directions like every other 20-something year old.  I maintain my home, sustain my dogs, barely make it through my college classes, and struggle through work.  My very supportive significant other likes to remind me that the cause of my death will most likely be a stroke from stress… he’s not wrong.  Most of the stress in my life is caused by my incessant need to make sure everything is okay.

The outdoors has always had a calming effect on me, allowing me to briefly forget that I live in a panic most of the time.  Star maps, late spring blossoms, the cool, crisp fall colors; they all bring me a deep peace that brings me back to my naturally collected self.  Mountains are my weak spot, the methodical sound of feet on the trail is soothing to me.  The softness of a pine forest, the bare, windblown peaks, the change in vegetation when rising in elevation, the warmth from the sun and the quick brisk air that can blow in at any moment.  I can taste pure happiness at 4000+ ft in elevation, that we so adequately refer to as God’s country.

As a young adult, I fought so hard to get out of the mountains, sick of the small town that I grew up in, sick of the lack of opportunity, sick of being in one of the most beautiful places on earth. Abandoning home, I landed in a flat, sandy, wet place that averaged 20 degrees warmer on any given day.  Desperately trying to convince myself that this is where I wanted to be, all along yearning to be back in the crisp, fresh air of the mountains.  They call to me, inside I know that they will always be home to me, no matter what mountains they may be, I will always live in the sky.

Giving up backpacking was the start of my downfall.  When I stopped exploring, I stopped finding happiness and beauty around me.  Slowly working to get that back, already I am feeling joy in small things again.  I still struggle with negativity, but I am fighting back.

The largest step in my self-progression was to decide to be a backpacking instructor at a summer camp.  Sharing my joy, and instructing others, has allowed me to reopen the love I have for the outdoors.  This opportunity is something that, as cliched as it seems, will save my childish dreams and my sense of adventure.

Join me in my journey to find my wanderlust again! And maybe also learn some really cool things about backpacking 😀

-K

Leave a Reply

